Waikanae School prize giving

Year 8 student successes at Waikanae School were recognised at the end of year prize giving held in the Waikanae Memorial Hall on Monday 19th December.

In front of the rest of the school and a sizable number of parents the 57 year eight students received awards and cups for their sporting and academic endeavours during the year.

The special assembly included speeches by a pupil from each of the five senior classes, performances by two of the school bands, and performances from both the junior and senior Kapa Haka groups.


Waikanae School Councillors Award for LeadershipVincenza Coromandel & Taine Halbert

Dora Saunders Challenge Cup for the Best in Oral LanguageSam Heustice

Noeline McGowan Challenge Cup for Excellence in Written LanguageLex Ashurst-Smoult & Olivia Paxie

B & H Netball Cup for Most Promising PlayerPaige Edwards

Ambler Cup for Overall Hexathlon ChampionEthan Halverson & Lee-Tara Thoresen

Recognition Cup for Sporting Achievement, BoysTaine Halbert & Ethan Halverson

Recognition Cup for Sporting Achievement, Girls

Lee-Tara Thoresen & Rose Surrey

Recognition Cup for Best in the Visual Arts Ethan Halverson

Recognition Cup for Best in TechnologyCaleb Green-Wilson & Zak Kiernander

Randall Cup for Excellence in Performing Arts GirlsAddison Hodges & Kesiah Dennis

Excellence in Performing Arts – BoysTim Kooiman

Aitken Cup for Contribution to MusicFergus Aitken

Sundgren Greig Family Cup for Taha Maori Maia Richmond & Addison Hodges

Library Cup for services to the LibraryMonique Wilson

Award for Outstanding Contribution to the EnvironmentVictoria Haig & Olivia Paxie

Recognition Award for Superb Effort in Languages Gregor Carr & Frankie Davis

Lesley Duncan Prize for great progress in EnglishJacob McLennaghan

Pearson Award for Excellence in Computer TechnologyDuncan McPhee

Principal’s Award for 2012Monique Wilson

Maths Achievement Cup for Best in Maths& Jim Brown Memorial Award for excellence in senior maths ($100) Lex Ashurst-Smoult

Diana Feek Memorial Cup for Positively Facing ChallengesJamie Clancy

Wilson Family Award for Superb EffortMaia Richmond

Udy Family Scholarship Cup for the pupil who showed most pride & commitment to Waikanae School ($200)Rose Surrey

Mitchell-Ellison Challenge Cup for the Best All Round Pupil & Rotary Award ($200) Olivia Paxie.