Teo Thoresen wins Bowls title

In a tense contest Teo Thoresen defeated Francine Mulholland in the final of the Women’s Junior Singles bowls championship at the Waikanae Bowling Club.

In a slighly complicated two life format the two finalists were actually meeting for the third time in the championship.

In the first round Thoresen defeated Kerre Shearer then beat Robyn Wilkinson in round two to set up the first clash with Mulholland which Mulholland won.

In other draw matches Shearer beat Dorothy Harper and then Wilkinson before losing to Thoresen. That set up the rematch with Mulholland which Thoresen won and Mulholland then needed to beat Shearer to make the final and a third clash with Thoresen who went on the win the final.