Business Awards Assessors named

Six people have been named to assess entrants in this year’s annual Electra Business Awards for Horowhenua and Kāpiti. They are: Brian Byers, Nick Dangerfield, Chris Ineson, Trevor McKee, Ron Parkin and Tony Rush.

The Chief Assessor is Ron Parkin of Genoese Foods, Nadi Bay Herbs, Parkin Farms and Parkin Brothers. Genoese Foods was judged Electra Business of the Year in 2001.

The assessors are from a wide variety of business backgrounds covering the spectrum of small and large private businesses and public institutions. All have held top positions in those organisations. Experience in evaluating business performance is also included.

The assessors will evaluate the written entries and arrange face-to-face meetings to discuss the entry and supplementary information. They will then complete a scoring sheet for each entrant and write a feedback summary to be sent to the businesses after the awards have been announced.

Assessors will present their findings for consideration by an independent judging panel headed by Suzanne Snively of PricewaterhouseCoopers. Ms Snively has been a judge for these awards since their inception in 1993.

This two stage approach is regarded as one of the most rigorous in the country.

Entering businesses will be assessed and judged on seven factors: vision, values and leadership; strategy; marketing; performance; resources; operations; and business results.

Assessing will start towards the end of July.