Neil MacKay announces Electra Trust bid

ELECTRA Trustee elections 2024
This story has had 1,208 views!

Current Electra Trust member Neil MacKay has announced his candidacy for a return to the trust at the upcoming election.

Mr MacKay says Electra is facing challenges on many fronts; rising costs, decarbonisation commitments and our regional growth.

“The Trust needs the right set of skills and experience to support the company and consumers to successfully navigate its way through these challenges,” he says.

Mr MacKay is am currently the Chair of the Kāpiti Economic Development Kotahitanga Board which is working with businesses, the community and investors to grow and develop our economy. He is also Director of an innovative eco-friendly wastewater treatment technology company.

Mr MacKay was previously a director of Electra for 12 years, the last three as Chair until 2019.

Neil MacKay standing for re-election to Electra Trust

“The company was then, and is still, regarded as one of the best performing lines companies in the country. During my time as a director, we frequently increased consumer discount and I will continue to work on behalf of the consumer to ensure that discount will be maximised.”

Mr MacKay also brings extensive governance and executive management experience across a wide range of sectors in New Zealand and Overseas, including Energy sector roles in Australia and Hong Kong.

“I have a proven track record as both a director and trustee of Electra and seek your support for re-election to continue to safeguard your interests. On your behalf trustees appoint directors who are responsible for the CEO and the smooth running of the company.”

Mr MacKay says the first priority is always the highest standards of service to the Kāpiti-Horowhenua region. He says despite the challenges the good news is that the Electra lines business is still one of the country’s top performers.

The Electra Trust Elections Dates

Voting Opens Monday 13 May 2024
Voting Closes 12 noon Friday 7 June 2024
Official Declaration As soon as possible on Friday 7 June 2024

Current Trustees are:

  • Neil MacKay BCA of Paraparaumu
  • John Yeoman BBS ACA FCG of Paraparaumu
  • Sharon Crosbie CNZM OBE of Manakau, Chair
  • Lindsay Burnell QSM of Ohau
  • Brendon Duffy ONZM JP of Levin
  • Russell Longuet EL (Elec) of Ōtaki