History Panels dedicated at Waikanae Estuary

Richard Mansell, Gordon Shroff, and Gerald Rys at the dedication ceremony for the Treaty of Waitangi panels at Waikanae Estuary Reserve
This story has had 782 views!

By Michael Moore

Wild, wet and blustery weather, couldn’t dampen the spirits of those attending the dedication of the Waitangi interpretive panels at the Waikanae Estuary Reserve on Saturday morning.

The Waikanae Beach Residents Society has been working with local mana whenua, the Waikanae Community Board, Kāpiti Coast District Council and researchers to develop a series of interpretive panels so residents and visitors can be better informed about the rich history of events and people in the Waikanae Beach area.

These are the first panels to be completed and are situated at the Waiheke Street entrance to the Waikanae Estuary Scientific Reserve (managed by the Waikanae Estuary Care Group).

The panels deal with the signatures of the Treaty of Waitangi in the Waikanae area in April-May 1840.

Among those attending were Te Atiawa ki Whakarongotai Trust representatives Tracey Morgan, Deputy Chair and Janine Huxford, Treasurer and whanau of Te Rangi Topeora, a Treaty signatory.

Waikanae Community Board helped fund the project and chair Richard Mansell spoke of the importance of recording our history.  Councillors Jocelyn Prvanov and Nigel Wilson attended along with Michael Moore, Waikanae Community Board – representing Te Horo.

Waikanae Beach Residents Society chair Gerald Rys, says our shared history was something all in our community should know about.

The project was spearheaded by Gordon Shroff over the last two years. Additional panels are planned for around Waikanae, including Te Horo.