Horowhenua/Kāpiti Cricket is Back

The first of a month-long series of free, fun events to celebrate the return of cricket gets underway this weekend, and the first Senior men’s representative dates of 2020/21 have been inked in by Central Districts Cricket.

#CricketsBack is a series of nine family-themed events in Horowhenua, Kāpiti Coast, Taranaki, Manawatū, Wairarapa and Hawke’s Bay, with free cricket-based activities, giveaways, prizes plus opportunities to join a local club – and for kids to meet some of their cricket-playing idols in person.

While COVID-19 curtailed the final weeks of the 2019/20 summer of cricket last March, the mood is optimistic for the fresh season with NZC planning for a full season of Domestic cricket.

Central Stags and Central Hinds schedules are yet to be revealed but CDCA has today confirmed its 2020/21 inter-district men’s programme will begin with the opening round of the Furlong Cup on the weekend of 7th and 8th November, in Napier, Whanganui and Masterton.

The winner of CDCA’s Furlong Cup earns the right to make the Zone 2 challenge for the historic Hawke Cup later in the New Zealand season, while CDCA’s South Island districts Nelson and Marlborough compete in the Zone 3 Hawke Cup competition for the right to become the Zone 3 challenger.

Nelson and Marlborough will get their campaigns underway with respective away trips to Westport (Buller) and Rangiora, home of defending Zone 3 champion Canterbury Country, on the first weekend of December before hosting their first home games a week later on the 12th and 13th.

The Chapple Cup meanwhile brings all eight CD District Association members together to compete for the silverware across three days of one-day knockout cricket (and T20s for the teams that drop out of the running for either the Chapple Cup or the consoling Cave Cup after the second day’s play).

The 2020 Chapple Cup tournament will take place from Friday 20 to Sunday 22 November, with matches in both Palmerston North and Levin. The draw is to be revealed on CDCA social media channels in October.

Hawke’s Bay will head across to the annual tournament as the defending champion, and has claimed three titles from the past four seasons. Hawke’s Bay will also begin the new season looking to keep the Furlong Cup locked away at their Nelson Park headquarters for 2020/21.

#CRICKETSBACK – free family events


Paraparaumu: Saturday 19 September, 11am-1pm ‘ Paraparaumu Cricket Club, Kena Kena Park, Whyte St

Waikanae: Saturday 19 September, 2pm – 4pm ‘ Waikanae Rugby Club, Waikanae Park

Levin: Sunday 20 September, 11am – 1pm ‘ Basil Netten Centre, Donnelly Park

Ōtaki: Sunday 20 September, 2pm – 3.30pm ‘ Ōtaki Sports Club, Haruatai Park


This year’s tournament will be played in Palmerston North and Levin

Tournament dates: Friday 20 to Sunday 22 November 2020

Draw will be announced in October 2020



7 & 8 November 2020

‘ Hawke’s Bay v Horowhenua-Kāpiti in Napier

‘ Whanganui v Manawatū in Whanganui

‘ Wairarapa v Taranaki in Masterton


5 & 6 December 2020

‘ Hawke’s Bay v Whanganui in Napier

‘ Taranaki v Manawatū in New Plymouth

12 & 13 December 2020

‘ Wairarapa v Horowhenua-Kāpiti in Masterton


16 & 17 January 2021

‘ Whanganui v Wairarapa in Whanganui

Horowhenua-Kāpiti v Taranaki in Levin

23 & 24 January 2021

‘ Manawatū v Hawke’s Bay in Palmerston North


30 & 31 January 2021

‘ Hawke’s Bay v Wairarapa in Napier

Horowhenua-Kāpiti v Manawatū in Levin

‘ Taranaki v Whanganui in New Plymouth


13 & 14 February 2021

Horowhenua-Kāpiti v Whanganui in Levin

‘ Manawatū v Wairarapa in Palmerston North

‘ Taranaki v Hawke’s Bay in New Plymouth

For more on Horowhenua/Kāpiti Cricket www.horowhenuakapiticricket.com

For more on Central Districts Cricket see: www.cdcricket.co.nz