No Change for local MPs

The current three MPs from the Ōtaki and Mana electorates have all been returned to Parliament, although in what capacity is still uncertain.

Labour Party Senior Whip Kris Faafoi has recorded a huge win in holding his position as the MP for the Mana electorate in a contest that could see all three of the top candidates heading to parliament.

Mr Faafoi recorded 18,679 votes on election night which was 8,688 ahead of National Party rival Euon Murrell, with Greens candidate Jan Logie in third.

Mr Faafoi was first elected as the Member of Parliament for Mana in November 2010 following more than a decade working as a journalist at both TVNZ and the BBC.

Mr Murrell is number 59 on the National Party list so has an anxious time ahead with special votes likely to determine if he will elected as a list MP.

Third in the Mana contest was high ranking Green Party MP Jan Logie who will be returning to parliament as number 6 on the Green Party list.

National MP for Ōtaki Nathan Guy has again claimed a comfortable win in the electorate with a healthy majority over nearest rival, Labour candidate Rob McCann.

However the Ōtaki electorate will have a bit of wait to see if they will be represented by a member of the government or the opposition.

With the overall result not yielding a winning party the next government will be decided by New Zealand First and leader Winston Peters who holds the balance of power.

Mr Guy has been the MP for Ōtaki since 2008. In 2014 he won the seat with a majority of 7782. He is ranked number 12 on the National Party’s list.

On election night Mr Guy received 18866 votes to 12824 for Mr McCann.