Kāpiti Community board chairs confirmed

The chairs for Kāpiti Coast District Council’s four community boards have all been confirmed.

Community boards have four representatives each and have been elected for Ōtaki, Waikanae, Paraparaumu-Raumati and Paekākāariki.

Mayor K Gurunathan says community boards play an important role in Kāpiti.

“Our community boards are the grass roots of local democracy where people in each of our towns and villages can take their concerns or seek assistance.”

At the inaugural meeting of each board meeting, the board nominates and votes for each chair and deputy chair. The appointments are:

The Ōtaki Community Board chair is Christine Papps, deputy chair is Marilyn Stevens and the board members are Kerry Bevan and Shelly Warwick.

The Waikanae Community Board chair is Jocelyn Prvanov, deputy chair is James Westbury and the board members are Tonchi Begovich and Jeremy Seamark.

The Paraparaumu-Raumati Community Board chair is Jonny Best, deputy chair is Guy Burns and the board members are Bernie Randall and Kathy Spiers.

The Paekākāariki Community Board chair is Philip Edwards, deputy chair is Steve Eckett and the board members are Holly Ewens and Paul Hughes.