Kāpiti Public Art Panel Established

Members of the Public Art Panel, L to R: Tracey Morgan, Janet Bayly, Deb Donnelly, Tane Moleta and Cr Jackie Elliot.

The Kāpiti Coast Public Art Panel has been created as a result of the Kāpiti Council’s adoption of the Public Art Policy.

The Panel, chaired by Cr Jackie Elliott, is appointed by the Kāpiti Council to oversee the public art programme, assisting the Council to implement the Public Art Policy. The Panel develops its own annual work programme, and makes recommendations to Council’s Environment and Community Development (ECD) Committee . All final public art decisions are made by Council.

The Panel is made up of experts from a range of fields and consists of:

Deb Donnelly, Independent arts professional

Tane Moleta, Independent urban design professional

Janet Bayly, representative of Mahara Gallery

Tracey Morgan, arts professional nominated by Te Whakaminenga o Kāpiti

Councillor Jackie Elliott, Kāpiti Coast District Council

Membership is voluntary, there is no remuneration to members for their time or attendance at meetings.

The Panel sets its own meeting schedule; it is required to meet at least every six months. Since its formation, the Panel has met monthly.

Meetings are not public; however, any recommendations they make go to public meetings of Council’s ECD Committee.

The Panel’s work is performed in accordance with its Terms of Reference, the Public Art Policy, and the Council’s Strategy for Supporting the Arts.